Afghanistan Made a big upset by Defeating the World Champion England, ICC World Cup 2023

Afghanistan Made a big upset by Defeating the World Champion England, ICC World Cup 2023:- The 13th match of ICC World Cup was played between World Cup champions England and Afghanistan at Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi. Afghanistan made a big upset here and defeated England by 69 runs.

England won the toss and decided to field first. Afghanistan had a good start. Rahmanullah Gurbaj and Ibrahim Jordan gave a good start to the team and both of them made a partnership of more than 100 runs. Afghanistan’s first wicket fell in the form of Ibrahim Jordan at 114 runs. After Ibrahim Zardan’s dismissal, wickets continued to fall, Rahmanullah Gurbani was run out after making 80 runs, but Ikram made handsome 58 runs and Afghanistan got 284/10 runs in 49.5 overs.

For England, Adil Rashid took 3 wickets, Mark Wood took 2 wickets and Reece Topley, Liam Livingstone and Joe Root took one wicket each.

The England team, which came to chase 284 runs, had a very bad start when opener Jonny Bairstow (LBW), became the victim of Fazalhaq Farooqui for 2 runs. None of England’s batsmen stood up to Afghanistan’s spin bowling attack or England’s team played like a deck of cards, only Harry Brook struggled a bit and scored 66 runs, But he could not lead the team to victory and England lost by 69 runs.

Afghanistan team bowled amazingly. The pitch was helpful for the spinners, which they took full advantage of and helped Afghanistan win. Mujeeb ur Rahman from Afghanistan broke the back of England’s top order. Rahman took 3 wickets. Rashid Khan also bowled brilliantly and took 3 wickets of England. Mohammad Nabi took 2 wickets, Fazalhaq Farooqui and Naveen Ul Haq took one wicket each.

England Playing X1

Jonny Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Joe Root, Harry Brook , Jos Buttler (c), Liam Livingstone , Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Reece Topley.

Afghanistan Playing X1

Rahmanullah Gurba, Ibrahim Zardan, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Azmatullah Omarzai, Ikram Alikhil, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi.

Afganistan Score Board:

Rahmanullah Gurbaj (80) runs, Run Out( (sub) David Willey) / ( Jos Buttler)

Ibrahim Zardan (28) runs, catch Joe Root, ball Adil Rashid

Rahmat Shah (3) runs, stump Jos Buttler, ball Adil Rashid

Hashmatullah Shahidi (14) runs, bold Joe Root

Azmatullah Omarzai (19) runs, catch Chris Woakes, ball Liam Livingstone

Ikram Alikhil (58) runs, catch Sam Curran, ball Reece Topley

Mohammad Nabi (9) runs, catch Joe Root, ball Mark Wood

Rashid Khan (23) runs, catch Joe Root, ball Adil Rashid

Mujeeb ur Rahman (28) runs, catch Joe Root, ball Mark Wood

Naveen ul Haq (5) runs, run out Jos Buttler

Fazalhaq Farooqi (2) runs

Extras:- 15


Chris Woakes – 0 wicket

Reece Topley – 1 wicket

Sam Curran – 0 wicket

Adil Rashid – 3 wickets

Mark Wood – 2 wickets

Liam Livingston – 1 wicket

Joe Root – 1 wicket

England Score Board:

Jonny Bairstow (2) runs, LBW, ball Fazalhaq Farooqi

Dawid Malan (32) runs, catch ibrahim Zardan, ball Mohammad Nabi

Joe Root (11) runs, bold, ball Mujeeb ur Rahman

Harry Brook (66) runs, catch Ikram Alikhil, ball Mujeeb ur Rahman

Jos Buttler (9) runs, bold, ball Naveen ul Haq

Liam Livingstone (10) runs, LBW, ball Rashid Khan

Sam Curran (10) runs, catch, Rahmat Shah, ball Mohammd Nabi

Chris Woakes (9) runs, bold, ball Mujeeb ur Rahman

Adil Rashid (20) runs, catch Mohammad Nabi, ball Rashid Khan

Mark Wood (18) runs, bold, ball Rashid Khan

Reece Topley (15) runs

Extras:- 13


Mujeeb ur Rahman – 3 wickets

Fazalhaq Farooqi – 1 wicket

Naveen ul Haq – 1 wicket

Mohammad Nabi – 2 wickets

Rashid Khan – 3 wickets

Azmatullah Omarza– 0 wicket

Leave a comment